Garden – Thursday 26th March 2015

Posted on Updated on

I finally collected my Thompson and Morgan order for post office today.  The package was too big to fit through the letter box on Monday and I’ve just not gotten round to it until today.  It was pretty exciting, I’d completely forgotten what I’d ordered so it was a lovely surprise!

I’ve found some interesting radishes to grow – Chinese radishes which I gather are hotter and ideal for using in stir fries.  It looks like they’ll take a little longer to grow than salad radishes and can be grown in to the winter as well.  Varieties are China Rose and Dragon.

Snake gourds were purchased for novelty value.  My other half has 2 kids so i thought they might be fun for them to paint a the end of the summer.
image

Following my Olmec post I did a bit more research and discovered growing that combination of crops is known as the “three sisters” and there is a really interesting wikipedia article about it here – although I will definitely be laying off on the rotting eels… So I’ve done another grow bag this time with all three crops in.  My order contained some climbing Borlotti beans with the rather snazzy name of Firetongue so I’ve put those in with Swift sweetcorn and Harrier Butternut Squash.

Fancy carrots are a favourite of mine this year, so to accompany the regular orange varieties I’ve also purchased some Purple Sun, Purple Haze and Yellowstone.  Some of those are going in planters in the garden as well and will be accompanied by a ring of Lilia, Lisbon and Apache spring onions.

I’ve heard that mint is a great companion plant to grow with peas so I’ll be starting off some pots of that to be planted at the allotment – I’m hoping it’ll staying the pots otherwise I will not be popular with my future successor! Talking of peas I’ve found a dwarf, virtually leaf less variety called Bingo that looked interesting so they’re in a pot on the patio too.  I’m really looking forward to having a few veg plants at home for grabbing quickly when I don’t have time at to get to the allotment.

Finally, a few more coloured dwarf beans Concodor which is yellow, some Splendido which are a Borlotti variety and Amethyst a purple skinned bean.  I find dwarf beans really heavy croppers so only a few plants of each are required and we’ll have another freezer full to last us next winter.

Well, enough about seeds for now, hoping to get down the allotment properly this weekend.

Happy growing. xx

Leave a Reply

