Sunday 5th April 2015 – Garden

Posted on

I have had a complete bee in my bonnet this afternoon and decided that I would give the the beds in the garden a bit of an overhaul.  This has been quite an accomplishment as the only tools I have at home are a hand trowel and a pair of Poundland secateurs….  As you can imagine the secateurs aren’t particularly great but they cut thin stuff well enough so I was able to successfully massacre my scrawny bay tree.

All the beds are now weed and dog poop free which means that they need plants! YAY! However plants for my garden continue to pretty tricky to choose.  My neighbours have a massive holly tree growing just on their side of the fence and it creates a rain shadow over almost half of the main bed – not to mention the year round cascade of ridiculously spikey leaves.
image
The roots make the bed really tricky too, obviously a tree has a lot of roots so hacking through them to get a plant in is quite hard work, and any water that does get to the bed gets quickly whisked away.

My curry plant is doing well though, and they look pretty so I think I’ll get myself a few more of those and maybe some more grasses.  I have some iris in the bed that I was given last summer so I am hoping for some flowers on those this year too.

In the plastic green house department I have some pretty happy seedlings and a couple of really awkward seeds who are still refusing to germinate.  The cold nights aren’t helping with that but hopefully they’ll start to warm up soon.
image
Enough of my ramblings for today.

Happy gardening.

A x

Leave a Reply

